You are here

OASE Awards

OASE sponsors the Superintendent of the Year award each year. For members wishing to nominate a colleague, please follow the following guidelines:

Superintendent of the Year Award

The process for this award begins in May.  The nominee must be an active superintendent, with plans to continue in the position, and a current member of both AASA and OASE.

  • To access the current nomination form, CLICK HERE.
  • Mail or email nominations to Joanne Fey at COSA by Friday, August 10, 2018.

Nominations must be submitted by midnight on Friday, August 10, 2018!  All nominations will be sent to the OASE Executive Board for selection.  The Oregon winner will be notified by August 31 and will then be asked to complete the AASA national application, which is due November 1, 2018.

If you have questions regarding the state process and procedures, please contact Joanne Fey,

The winner will be honored at the OSBA Conference in November, the OASE/OACOA Winter Conference in January, and the Annual COSA Conference in June.

Karen Fischer Gray, Parkrose SD - 2018 Oregon Superintendent of the Year

Past Oregon Superintendents of the Year:   

  • 2017     Matt Utterback, North Clackamas SD - Oregon & National Superintendent of the Year
  • 2016     Heidi Sipe, Umatilla SD
  • 2015     Randy Schild, Tillamook SD
  • 2014     Don Grotting, David Douglas
  • 2013     Maryalice Russell, McMinnville
  • 2012     Ron Wilkinson, Bend
  • 2011     Nancy Golden, Springfield
  • 2010     Paula Radich, Newberg
  • 2009     Juli DiChiro, Ashland
  • 2008     Ron Naso, North Clackamas
  • 2007     Krista Parent, Cottage Grove (*National Winner)
  • 2006     Deborah Sommer, Canby
  • 2005     George Russell, Eugene
  • 2004     Gary Peterson, Crook County
  • 2003     Kent Hunsaker, Bethel
  • 2002     Ray Crawford, Klamath Falls
  • 2001     Jerome Colonna, Redmond
  • 2000     Craig Roessler, Silver Falls
  • 1999     Bill Korach, Lake Oswego
  • 1998     Margaret Nichols, Eugene
  • 1997     Bill Hill, Sherwood
  • 1996     Russ Joki, Tigard-Tualatin
  • 1995     Tony Palermini, David Douglas
  • 1994     Joe Bucher, Damascus
  • 1993     Ron Zook, Parkrose
  • 1992     George Benson, Centennial
  • 1991     Steve Wisely, Medford
  • 1990     Homer Kearns, Salem-Keizer (*National Winner)
  • 1989     Boyd Applegarth, Beaverton
  • 1988     Bill Worrell, Bend