You are here

Confederation of Oregon School Administrators

About COSA

Mission: We develop and support educational leaders to ensure student success.

The Confederation of Oregon School Administrators (COSA) serves and represents more than 2,000 school administrators, managers and executives. COSA was founded in 1974 to give Oregon's education leaders a united voice in helping to shape public policy, advocate for schools and speak on behalf of students. COSA's perspective has earned the respect of educators, the Legislature, the Department of Education and other statewide agencies. COSA consistently puts the interests of schools and students ahead of self-interest.

In addition to advocacy, COSA supports and develops educational leaders with unmatched professional development opportunities—including statewide conferences, regional seminars and workshops, and much more -- and a variety of exclusive member services. Areas of focus include school finance and legislative services.

Meetings

  • COSA Board of Directors Meeting

    June 19, 2019
     | 3:00 pm

    Seaside, OR

  • COSA Board of Directors Meeting

    September 19, 2019
     | 12:00 pm

    Conference Room A
    COSA Office, Salem

  • COSA Board of Directors Meeting

    December 11, 2019
     | 12:00 pm

    COSA Office or Online

  • COSA Board of Directors Meeting

    February 6, 2020
     | 1:00 pm

    Online via GoTo Meeting

  • COSA Board of Directors Meeting

    April 9, 2020
     | 12:00 pm

    COSA Office
    Salem, Oregon

  • COSA Board of Directors Meeting

    June 24, 2020
     | 3:00 pm

    Seaside, Oregon

COSA Board of Directors

President

Samantha Steele

Superintendent, Central Point SD

President-Elect

James Hiu

Deputy Superintendent, Gresham-Barlow SD

Past President

Ericka Guynes

Principal, Earl Boyles Elementary

Board Member

Dawn Moorefield

Director of Curriculum, Cascade SD

Board Member

Sean Reinhart

Director of Special Programs, Bend-LaPine SD

Board Member

Candy Armstrong

Superintendent, North Wasco County SD

Board Member

Lynn Jackson

Principal, Astoria High School

Board Member

Peyton Chapman

Principal, Lincoln High School

Board Member

Randy Schild

Superintendent, Tillamook SD

Board Member

Kate Barker

Principal, Cherry Park Elementary

Board Member

George Mendoza

Superintendent, LaGrande SD

Ex-Officio Member

Peter Weber

Executive Director, Oregon School Activities Association

Board Member

Iton Udosenata

Principal, North Eugene High School

Board Member

LaShawanta Spears

Vice Principal, Fir Ridge Campus, DDSD

Executive Director

Craig Hawkins

Confederation of Oregon School Administrators

Ex-Officio Member

Jim Green

Executive Director, Oregon School Boards Association

Ex-Officio Member

Carmen Urbina

Deputy Director, ODE

COSA Staff

Morgan Allen

Deputy Director of Policy & Advocacy

morgan@cosa.k12.or.us

Ben Bowman

Legislative Affairs Specialist

ben@cosa.k12.or.us

Betsy Brawner

Technology/Member Services

betsy@cosa.k12.or.us

Colin Cameron

Deputy Executive Director

colin@cosa.k12.or.us

Joanne Fey

Administrative Assistant

joanne@cosa.k12.or.us

Craig Hawkins

Executive Director

craig@cosa.k12.or.us

Dave Holtmeier

Print Shop Manager

dave@cosa.k12.or.us

Trina Hmura

Leadership Program Coordinator

trina@cosa.k12.or.us

Sera Lockwood

Professional Learning Support

sera@cosa.k12.or.us

Sara Nilles

Coordinator of Awards, Scholarships and Elections

sara@oasc.org

Kris Olsen

Co-Director of Professional Learning

kris@cosa.k12.or.us

Meghan Cusick Olson

Communications & Professional Learning Coordinator

meghan@cosa.k12.or.us 

Krista Parent

Director of Executive Leadership and Licensure

krista@cosa.k12.or.us 

Sue Scott

Accounts Receivable

sue@cosa.k12.or.us

Suzanne Strite

Co-Director of Professional Learning

suzanne@cosa.k12.or.us

Debbie Sullivan

Business Services

debbie@cosa.k12.or.us

Derrick Sullivan

Administrative Assistant

derrick@cosa.k12.or.us

Elections

Each year, COSA members participate in online elections to select members of the COSA Board of Directors and department (OASE, OASSA, OESPA, OACOA) Executive Committees.

Current COSA and department officers develop a slate of candidates each winter. COSA members are encouraged to submit their names or to nominate a colleague for a leadership position by submitting a nomination e-mail that includes the name, position and district of the nominee, as well as a brief statement of support.

Generally, the COSA and department presidents-elect are up for election annually and serve for three years (as president-elect, president and past president). Members of the various executive boards serve staggered terms of two or three years. Presidents and presidents-elect of each department serve on the COSA Board of Directors.

You must be a COSA active member to run for office. Need to update your active membership ?

Here's a current list of COSA Boards and Executive Committees.