You are here

Coalition of Oregon School Administrators

About COSA

Mission: We develop and support educational leaders to ensure student success.

The Coalition of Oregon School Administrators (COSA) serves and represents more than 2,400 school administrators, managers and executives. COSA was founded in 1974 to give Oregon's education leaders a united voice in helping to shape public policy, advocate for schools and speak on behalf of students. COSA's perspective has earned the respect of educators, the Legislature, the Department of Education and other statewide agencies. COSA consistently puts the interests of schools and students ahead of self-interest.

In addition to advocacy, COSA supports and develops educational leaders with unmatched professional development opportunities—including statewide conferences, regional seminars and workshops, and much more -- and a variety of exclusive member services. Areas of focus include school finance and legislative services.

Our Organizations

A member-driven umbrella organization, COSA is governed by an elected Board of Directors that represents the organization's four Departments:

COSA Board of Directors

President

Rachael George

Director of Student Services, Oregon Trail SD

President-Elect

Darin Drill

Superintendent, Cascade SD

Past President

Iton Udosenata

Assistant Superintendent, Salem-Keizer SD

Board Member

Cynthia Richardson

Director of Student Equity, Access and Assessment, Salem-Keizer SD

Board Member

Lynne Griffin

Service Center Administrator, Clatop Service Center - NWRESD

Board Member

Tim Sweeney

Superintendent, Coquille SD

Board Member

George Mendoza

Superintendent, LaGrande SD

Board Member

Ryan Gerry

Principal, Grant Union Jr/Sr High School

Board Member

John George

Principal, Dexter McCarty Middle School

Board Member

Heidi Brown

Superintendent/Principal, Crow-Applegate-Lorane SD

Board Member

Barb Keeton

Principal, Oak Creek Elementary

Ex-Officio Member

Peter Weber

Executive Director, Oregon School Activities Association

Board Member

LaShawanta Spears

Vice Principal, Alice Ott Middle School

Board Member

Shelly Reggiani

Executive Director, Instructional Services, North Clackamas SD

Board Member

Carmen Gelman

Principal, Milwaukie HS and Milwaukie Academy of the Arts

Ex-Officio Member

Colt Gill

Superintendent, Oregon Department of Education

Ex-Officio Member

Jim Green

Executive Director, Oregon School Boards Association

Executive Director

Craig Hawkins

Coalition of Oregon School Administrators

COSA Staff

Tina Acker

Director of Professional Learning

tina@cosa.k12.or.us

Morgan Allen

Deputy Director of Policy & Advocacy

morgan@cosa.k12.or.us

Betsy Brawner

Technology/Member Services

betsy@cosa.k12.or.us

Colin Cameron

Deputy Executive Director

colin@cosa.k12.or.us

Parasa Chanramy

Legislative Director

parasa@cosa.k12.or.us

Joanne Fey

Administrative Assistant

joanne@cosa.k12.or.us

Craig Hawkins

Executive Director

craig@cosa.k12.or.us

Dave Holtmeier

Print Shop Manager

dave@cosa.k12.or.us

Trina Hmura

Leadership Program Coordinator

trina@cosa.k12.or.us

Sera Lockwood

Professional Learning Support

sera@cosa.k12.or.us

Krista Parent

Director of Executive Leadership and Licensure

krista@cosa.k12.or.us 

Sue Scott

Accounts Receivable

sue@cosa.k12.or.us

Debbie Sullivan

Business Services

debbie@cosa.k12.or.us

Derrick Sullivan

Administrative Assistant

derrick@cosa.k12.or.us

Elections

Each year, COSA members participate in online elections to select members of the COSA Board of Directors and department (OASE, OASSA, OESPA, OACOA) Executive Committees.

Current COSA and department officers develop a slate of candidates each winter. COSA members are encouraged to submit their names or to nominate a colleague for a leadership position by submitting a nomination e-mail that includes the name, position and district of the nominee, as well as a brief statement of support.

Generally, the COSA and department presidents-elect are up for election annually and serve for three years (as president-elect, president and past president). Members of the various executive boards serve staggered terms of two or three years. Presidents and presidents-elect of each department serve on the COSA Board of Directors.

You must be a COSA active member to run for office. Need to update your active membership ?

Here's a current list of COSA Boards and Executive Committees.