You are here

Oregon Association of School Executives

About Oregon Association of School Executives (OASE)

The Oregon Association of School Executives (OASE) serves licensed school administrators who are directly responsible to a board of education; who serve as superintendents, or as a deputy, associate, area or assistant superintendent; and who are district level directors in personnel, business management or collective bargaining.  OASE includes the State Superintendent of Public Instruction and deputies or assistants to that office.

The purpose of the executive committee is to serve members in a continuous effort to improve education and educational administration through striving:

  • to exercise leadership in promoting the best interests of all education;
  • to improve educational programs through studies of problems and developments in areas selected by its membership;
  • to direct and sponsor in-service programs and activities designed to improve the effectiveness of its members in performing their various roles as administrators; and
  • to work cooperatively with other organizations - within and out of the profession - when goals are to improve public education.

OASE is a state affiliate of the national Superintendents Association (AASA). 

pearson_logo_6-24-20_0_0.png   scholastic_logo_hd_1_0.jpg    thoughtexchange_logo_new_3-8-21_1.png    pace_logo_6-9-17_1.png

Off-the-Record Meetings

OASE Off the Record Meetings are held periodically throughout the school year. They are attended by school superintendents from all of Oregon's school districts and ESDs, and invited guests.

Regional Off-the-Record Meetings:

  • Mon., September 19, 2022, 11am - 2pm, Running Y Ranch - Klamath Falls
  • Mon., September 26, 2022, 11am - 2pm, Columbia Gorge Community College - The Dalles
  • Tues., September 27, 2022, 11am - 2pm, InterMountain ESD - Pendleton
  • Wed., September 28, 2022, 11am - 2pm, Baker School District - Baker City
  • Thurs., September 29, 2022, 11am - 2pm, Lane ESD - Eugene
  • Mon., October 3, 2022, 11am - 2pm, High Desert ESD - Redmond
  • Tues., October 4, 2022, 11am - 2pm, NWRESD - Hillsboro
  • Thurs., October 13, 2022, 11am - 2pm, South Coast ESD - Coos Bay
  • Mon. October 17, 2022, 10am - 1pm, Clackamas ESD - Clackamas
  • Thurs., October 20, 2022, 1 - 3:30pm, WESD - Salem
  • Wed., October 26, 2022, 10am - 1pm, Greater Albany Public Schools - Albany

Statewide Off-the-Record Meetings

  • Tues., August 2, 2022, 3 - 5pm, Graduate Hotel - Eugene
  • Tues., September 13, 2022, 2 - 4pm, via Zoom
  • Tues., November 8, 2022, 2 - 4pm, via Zoom
  • Wed., December 7, 2022, 4 - 6pm, Graduate Hotel - Eugene
  • Thurs., January 26, 2023, 4 - 6pm, Salishan
  • Tues., March 14, 2023, 2 - 4pm, via Zoom
  • Tues., April 11, 2023, 2 - 4pm, via Zoom
  • Tues., May 9, 2023, 2 - 4pm, via Zoom
  • Tues., June 13, 2023, 2 - 4pm, via Zoom

Executive Committee


George Mendoza

Superintendent, LaGrande SD


Sue Rieke-Smith

Superintendent, Tigard-Tualatin SD

Past President

Tim Sweeney

Superintendent, Grants Pass SD

Zone I Director

Mike Scott

Superintendent, Hillsboro SD

Zone II Director

Danna Diaz

Superintendent, Reynolds SD

Zone III Director

Brad Capener

Superintendent, Jefferson SD

Zone IV Director

Ryan Noss

Superintendent, Corvallis SD

Zone V Director

Jared Cordon

Superintendent, Roseburg SD

Zone VI Director

Scott Beveridge

Superintendent, Southern Oregon ESD

Zone VII Director

Pat Sublette

Superintendent, Columbia Gorge ESD

Zone VIII Director

Aaron Duff

Superintendent, Milton-Freewater SD

Zone IX Director

Sara Johnson

Superintendent, Crook County SD

Zone X Director

Adam Watkins

Superintendent, Blachly SD

Zone XI Director

Alisha McBride

Superintendent, Vale SD

Ex-Officio Member

Darin Drill

COSA Presidency

Superintendent, Cascade SD

Ex-Officio Member

Jim Green

Executive Director, Oregon School Boards Association

Ex-Officio Member

Peter Weber

Executive Director, Oregon School Activities Association

Ex-Officio Member

Heidi Sipe

AASA Governing Board

Superintendent, Umatilla SD

Ex-Officio Member

Michael Carter

Oregon Small Schools Association

Superintendent, Lakeview SD

Ex-Officio Member

Sue Rieke-Smith

AASA Governing Board

Superintendent, Tigard-Tualatin SD

Ex-Officio Member

Paul Andrews


Superintendent, High Desert ESD

Ex-Officio Member

Gustavo Balderas

AASA Governing Board

Superintendent, Beaverton SD

COSA Executive Director

Craig Hawkins

Coalition of Oregon School Administrators

Elections for OASE officers are held annually. OASE presidents serve three years (as president-elect, president and past-president). OASE Zone Directors serve three-year terms.