You are here

Oregon Small Schools Association

Oregon Small Schools Association


A Voice for Small Schools

The Oregon Small Schools Association is a nonprofit organization of small schools who have the common goal of ensuring their interests are heard in Salem and in the larger education community.

Latest News

  • NEW AWARD! Nominations open soon for Principal of the Year.
  • SAVE THE DATE. The next Oregon Small Schools Conference is April 18-19 at Mt. Hood Resort. Details will be posted here when available.
  • 2023 Administrator of the Year: We are proud to announce that Todd Miller, superintendent of Santiam Canyon School District, has been selected as the Oregon Small Schools Administrator of the Year. Read more here.

From the Executive Director

carterm_cropped.jpgWelcome to the homepage of the Oregon Small Schools Association. OSSA works hard for its members in a number of critical areas: professional development, legislative lobbying and priorities, recognition of outstanding small schools and people, regular communication through email and newsletters, and advocacy on behalf of small schools throughout the state. We hope to have you join us! — Michael Carter, OSSA Executive Director


Awards & Scholarships

award_0.pngOSSA sponsors three recognition programs for small schools staff deserving of special attention, as well as a new student scholarship program for its member districts. Help us recognize our outstanding colleagues! Nominate someone today.

Teacher of the Year: Deadline Oct. 13, 2024 (download pdf)
NEW! Principal of the Year: Deadline March 22, 2024
(Info coming soon)
Administrator of the Year: Nomination deadline May 17, 2024 (download pdf)

Six $1,000 scholarships are awarded, two each in 1A, 2A and 3A districts. Deadline: April 5.
        • Scholarship application form (download fillable pdf)
        • OSSA scholarship flyer (download pdf)

For more information

Michael Carter
OSSA Executive Director
cell: 503-369-9486

Tandalin Gerber
Executive Assistant

Morgan Allen
COSA Executive Director
of Policy and Advocacy