You are here

COSA Election Results: COSA is now the “Coalition of Oregon School Administrators”; Rachael George voted President-Elect

COSA members voted overwhelmingly to change the “C” in the organization’s name from “Confederation” to “Coalition” during balloting conducted last month, COSA President James Hiu announced today.  

Nearly 92% of COSA members supported the Constitution and Bylaws amendments proposed by the COSA Board of Directors, in collaboration with the COSA Equity Board.  In addition to changing the organization’s name, the amendments made technical updates to better reflect current practice, including anti-discrimination language.  The amendments also named the COSA Equity Board as an official COSA committee with representation on the COSA Board of Directors.

In his message to COSA members prior to balloting, Hiu wrote, “On a personal note, I want to tell you that I am proud to be COSA President at this moment in time, as we ask COSA members to vote on these amendments.  I know that we are a large and diverse organization, with members operating not just in different school settings, but different political contexts.  And I know that members may have varying opinions about the significance of changing the “C” in COSA.  Please know, this proposed change is significant to me and many of our colleagues.”

He also credited Alesia Valdez, an aspiring administrator who asked the simple question, “Has COSA ever thought about changing the name of the organization?”  Valdez had pointed out that the words “confederation” and “confederate” have historically racist associations, and wondered if it was time for COSA to update its name – to move away from a name that many would consider “outdated, offensive or racist,” and toward a name that would better represent the values that COSA and our members hold around “equity, diversity, inclusion and culturally-responsive practices.”

As votes were tallied yesterday, Hiu said, “This is an historic time in our world, state and organization. Through our collective and collaborative efforts, as leaders, we must continue to lean in and lead our school communities to meet the diverse needs of our students and families."

In addition to passing the amendments to the organization’s Constitution and Bylaws, COSA members also elected Rachael George, principal at Sandy Grade School in Oregon Trail School District, as COSA President Elect.  She will serve as COSA President in the 2021-22 school year, succeeding Iton Udosenata, who will serve as COSA President in 2020-21.  Udosenata, currently principal at North Eugene High School, will be assistant superintendent in Salem-Keizer next year.

Other members elected to serve in key COSA leadership roles beginning July 1 are:

•    OASE President-Elect – Tim Sweeney, Coquille SD
•    OASE Zone I Director – Mike Scott, Hillsboro SD
•    OASE Zone II Director – Danna Diaz, Reynolds SD
•    OASE Zone VI Director – Scott Beveridge, Southern Oregon ESD
•    OACOA President-Elect – Cynthia Richardson, Salem-Keizer SD
•    OACOA At-Large Representative – Danielle Hudson, Beaverton SD
•    OACOA At-Large Representative – Shelly Reggiani, North Clackamas SD
•    OASSA President-Elect – Ryan Gerry, Grant Union Jr/Sr High School, John Day
•    OASSA 1A/2A Representative – Stacy Knudson, Eddyville Charter School
•    OASSA 5A/6A Representative – James McGee, Lincoln High School, Portland
•    OASSA Coastal Region Representative – Travis Howard, Marshfield High
     School, Coos Bay
•    OASSA Metro Region Representative – Katy Wagner, St. Helens High School
•    OASSA Willamette Valley Representative – Craig Swanson, Lebanon High
•    OESPA President-Elect – Marshell Hooker, Mary Roberts Elementary, Ontario
•    NAESP Representative – Rachael George, Sandy Elementary, Oregon Trail
•    OESPA Eastern Region Representative – Tobey Huddleston, Aiken Elementary,
•    OESPA Metro Region Representative – Barb Keeton, Deep Creek-Damascus K-8
     School, Gresham-Barlow