You are here

Lincoln County administrator selected 2021 Oregon Middle School Principal of the Year

SALEM, Ore. – Amy Skirvin, Principal of Waldport Middle/High School in the Lincoln County School District, has been named the Oregon Middle School Principal of the Year.  Skirvin was selected by her peers in the Oregon Association of Secondary School Administrators (OASSA).

Skirvin is completing her third year as principal at Waldport.  During her tenure, the school has increased student participation in CTE, dual-credit, early college and Advanced Placement courses.  She built partnerships to bring back middle school sports.  Skirvin has also focused on creating a warm, welcoming and safe school environment by bringing an anti-bullying campaign to the school, utilizing a trauma-informed decision-making lens, and leading a “Fostering Resilient Learners” book study.

During this COVID-19-impacted year, Skirvin has effectively led Waldport stakeholders.  She engaged staff and families in developing the school’s distance learning, hybrid and in-person approaches to education.  She led her staff through “Distance Learning Playbook for Teachers” training.  She held weekly online meetings to lead parents through “Distance Learning Playbook for Parents” book study.  Skirvin utilized these “playbook” sessions to provide a shared focus on instruction and learning for staff and parents.

“I could not be more proud of Amy Skirvin for her many accomplishments as principal of Waldport Middle School/High School,” said Lincoln County School District Superintendent Dr. Karen Gray.  “Amy has demonstrated tremendous leadership and compassion in a time of challenge and sorrow. She has worked diligently and effectively the last three years to create a space for genuine trusting relationships, academic rigor and collaborative community for her school and in her area. Along with her excellent Assistant Principal and Athletic Director Steve Cooper, Waldport MS/HS has grown and developed into a great place for kids, families and staff.”

“It is a great pleasure to honor Amy Skirvin with the Oregon Middle School Principal of the Year award,” said Majalise Tolan, OASSA President. “Leading a 7th-12th grade building can be challenging with a wide range of needs, but Amy has exemplified being a caring and committed leader, advocating for all of her students and community.”

Skirvin will be honored at the annual COSA Seaside Conference in June and at the Statewide Principals Conference in October.  She will also be honored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP).


About COSA and OASSA

The Coalition of Oregon School Administrators (COSA) serves and represents more than 2,500 school administrators, managers and executives.  COSA was founded in 1974 to give Oregon's education leaders a united voice in helping to shape public policy, advocate for schools and speak on behalf of students. In addition to advocacy, COSA supports and develops educational leaders with professional learning opportunities -- including statewide conferences, regional seminars and workshops, and much more -- and a number of exclusive member services. Areas of focus include school finance and legislative services. A member-driven umbrella organization, COSA is governed by an elected Board of Directors that represents the organization's four Departments: the Oregon Association of School Executives (OASE), the Oregon Association of Secondary School Administrators (OASSA), the Oregon Elementary School Principals Association (OESPA) and the Oregon Association of Central Office Administrators (OACOA).  For more information, visit