You are here

My name is Raymond Arias and I am the new COSA Legislative Intern for the fall.

I am from Tualatin, Oregon where I recently graduated from Tualatin High School in June. I’m currently on a gap year from my collegiate education and hope to spend this hiatus away from school engaging in non-profit and activism-based work. When in college, I plan to major in economics on a pre-law track. In the meantime, however, I look forward to working with Parasa Chanramy, COSA's Legislative Director, and gaining more professional experience in the policy-making sphere. 

(Salem, Ore.) The Oregon Association of School Executives (OASE) and the Coalition of Oregon School Administrators (COSA) have named Brent Barry, superintendent of the Phoenix-Talent School District, as the 2022 Oregon Superintendent of the Year. This award automatically places Barry in the running for the National Superintendent of the Year Award from the American Association of School Administrators.

After a year and a half of “unprecedented times,” OASC is excited and ready to move into the future. This next year is a rebuilding year for many schools’ communities and cultures, and OASC is ready to assist our member schools in those endeavors, and we are excited to announce the hiring of a full time Executive Director to do just that. Please join us in welcoming Miles Palacios to the role of OASC’s Executive Director!

By Colt Gill (ODE), Jim Green (OSBA), Craig Hawkins (COSA), Daniel Ramirez (EAC) and Anthony Rosilez (TSPC)

Oregon’s public schools are more diverse now than at any other time in our history, but the number of superintendents of color in our state is not just stagnant, it is in a highly concerning free-fall. Only a handful of the 197 school districts in the State of Oregon are led by superintendents of color, and we believe this is a serious problem.

Tina Acker, who currently works as Director of Curriculum and Student Learning in the Centennial School District, has been selected as COSA’s new Director of Professional Learning.  Acker will begin her COSA position on July 1.

SALEM, Ore. – Erik Jespersen, Principal of McNary High School in the Salem Keizer School District, has been named the Oregon 2021 High School Principal of the Year.  Jespersen was selected by his peers in the Oregon Association of Secondary School Administrators (OASSA).

Jespersen is in his seventh year as principal at McNary.  Previously, he has served as assistant principal, instructional coach and social studies teacher at McNary and McKay High Schools in Salem-Keizer.

SALEM, Ore. – Amy Skirvin, Principal of Waldport Middle/High School in the Lincoln County School District, has been named the Oregon Middle School Principal of the Year.  Skirvin was selected by her peers in the Oregon Association of Secondary School Administrators (OASSA).

SALEM, Ore. – Kate Barker, Principal of Cherry Park Elementary School in the David Douglas School District, has been named Oregon’s 2021 National Distinguished Principal, also known as Oregon Elementary Principal of the Year.  Barker was selected by her peers in the Oregon Elementary School Principals Association (OESPA), and is now one of 50 finalists for the National Association of Elementary School Principals’ (NAESP) 2021 National Distinguished Principal award.

COSA members have elected Darin Drill, superintendent of the Cascade School District, as COSA President-Elect for 2021-22, during balloting conducted last month.  Drill will serve as COSA President in the 2022-23 school year, succeeding Oregon Trail School District administrator Rachael George, who will serve as COSA President in 2021-22.

Other members elected to serve in key COSA leadership roles beginning July 1 are:

Finalists Named for AASA’s 2021 National Superintendent of the Year®
Honorees include superintendents from Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Washington 


Subscribe to News & Blog